Senate rejects Lauretta Onochie, Fayose reacts

Nigerian Tuesday rejected the nomination of as a national commissioner of the Independent National Electoral Commission.

Chairman of the Committee, Kabiru Gaya, in his report, said Onochie did not satisfy the provisions of the Federal Character principles.

The Senate, however, confirmed five other nominees, including Muhammad Sani Kallah (Katsina), Kunle Ajayi (Ekiti), Saidu Ahmad (Jigawa), Baba Bila (North-East) and Prof. Abdullahi Zuru (North-West).

Their confirmation followed the adoption of the Senate committee report on the screening of the nominees at plenary on Tuesday.

Kabiru Gaya (APC-Kano), while presenting the report of the screening of the nominees, told the that it was against the federal character principle to have two persons from the same state as an national commissioner.

He cited the presence of May Agbamuche Mbu from Delta, as a national commissioner of INEC, as the
also stood down the confirmation of Sani Adam (North-Central) for further legislative work.

Meanwhile, former Governor Ayodele has appraised the ’s action stating that it portends great hope for democracy And urged the Senate to subject itself to representing the interest of Nigerians.

Leave a Reply

Please turn AdBlock off