Ondo residents return Akeredolu as Gov for second term


All progressives congress(APC) candidate and incumbent Governor of Ondo State, Oluwarotimi Akeredolu has defeated all 16 contenders in October 10 Governorship election to secure a second term in office winning 15 of the 18 local governments in the state.

Akeredolu flogged Eyitayo Jegede of peoples Democratic Party( PDP) by almost 100,000 votes as Zenith Labour Party( ZLP) Agboola Ajayi by more than 200, 000 votes. The governor secured 292, 830 votes while Eyitayo Jegede got 195, 791 votes and Agboola Ajayi has 69, 127 votes.

Also Read :- EndSARS : IGP scraps SARS nationwide

Independent National Electoral Commission( INEC) Returning Officer for the election, professor Idowu Olayinka declared Akeredolu as the governor- elect based on the votes secured.

Prof. Olayinka made the declaration at the INEC  office in Akure, the state capital which doubles as the final collation  centre.

However,  in an interview with newsmen after the declaration of the results. Governor Oluwarotimi Akeredolu thanked the people of Ondo state and all those who supported him.

He also called the people of the state to join hands with him to continue to move the state forward.


Related posts

Another man alleges he was assaulted by Amotekun; shares photos of his scars as he narrates horrific encounter


Teenager Arrested Over Deaths In Protest-Hit US City


EndSARS Protesters Regroup In Abuja, Block Police Headquarters Entrance


Leave a Comment